Doncaster Hill Development Assessment Committee appointed

29 Oct 2010

Planning Minister Justin Madden this week announced the members of the Doncaster Hill Development Assessment Committee (DAC), the first to be appointed to consider major development applications in a Victorian Activity Centre.
The DAC will consider planning permits within the Doncaster Hill Principal Activity Centre for:

  • Developments with a building height of 14.5 metres or greater
  • Uses and/or developments comprising 40 or more dwellings
  • Uses and/or developments comprising of 10,000 or more square metres of gross floor area
  • Uses and/or developments where any part of the land is owned by the Crown, a Minister, government department, public authority and/or municipal council, and the estimated cost of the development is more than $10 million
  • Uses of land as a place of assembly, hotel, tavern or restricted recreation facility, as those terms are defined by the Manningham Planning Scheme.

The DAC will decide applications lodged, that meet one or more of the above criteria, from Tuesday 26 October.

Committee members are Leonie Hemingway (Independent Chair), Professor Rodger Eade (State nominated member), Mervin Chetty (State nominated member), Paul Molan (Council), and Teresa Dominik (Council).
"Establishing the first DAC marks a new partnership between state and local government on key planning matters, with the Doncaster Hill DAC leading the way for other committees across Melbourne," Mr Madden said.